Skip to main content

Share a Saved Search with a Client

Share a saved search with clients so they can open and edit it in their client portal, send them alerts, and remove clients from the search.

Use this article to share a saved search with clients, manage their access and alerts, and remove them from the search.

Share a saved search with a client

Share a saved search with one or more clients from the Edit Search window. Clients open shared searches in their client portal, their workspace for collaborating with you.

The Contacts dropdown lists only people already in your contacts. Clients must accept their invitation to Perchwell before they can open a shared saved search. Invite Clients to Perchwell explains how to invite them.

Steps:

  1. Click Saved Searches, or the name of the open saved search, in the upper left of the Search page

  2. Click the pencil icon next to the saved search in the My Searches window

  3. Click the Contacts dropdown in the Edit Search window

  4. (Optional) Enter the client's name in the Search contacts field

  5. Select the checkbox next to each client you want to share the search with

  6. Turn on the Allow added contacts to see and edit this search toggle

  7. Click Update

The client receives an email that you added them to the saved search. The email has an Open saved search button. View Shared Saved Searches explains how clients open shared searches.

To also email the client about new matches, turn on Alerts and choose a Recipient option that includes contacts. Set Up Email Alerts for Saved Searches explains how.

What clients can do in a shared saved search

With the Allow added contacts to see and edit this search toggle on, clients open the saved search in their client portal, view the results, and edit filters and charts. Changes a client saves also update the saved search in your account.

Turning the toggle off removes the saved search from the client portal. Clients added to the search can still receive its alerts.

In the saved search, clients do not see Tags you have added to listings, whether the Tags are for them or another client. Tags do not show on the listing detail page, and the Tag Search column shows NA.

Remove a client from a saved search

Remove a client from a shared saved search through the Contacts field in the Edit Search window.

Steps:

  1. Click Saved Searches, or the name of the open saved search, in the upper left of the Search page

  2. Click the pencil icon next to the saved search in the My Searches window

  3. Click the X next to the client's name in the Contacts field

  4. Click Update

The saved search is removed from the client portal, and the client no longer receives its alerts.

Did this answer your question?